Purpose and scope

This guide shows how to check the entry requirements of one named programme in Malaysia. It starts with the Education Malaysia rule for international students. Then it uses five checks: award level, subject, grade, experience or interview, and English.

The examples come from Universiti Malaya (UM), Monash University Malaysia, Asia Pacific University of Technology & Innovation (APU), and University of Nottingham Malaysia. Each example applies only to the programme or list that its source names. Use the examples to learn how to read a rule. Do not use them as a minimum for a different programme.

Start at Study in Malaysia: University Admission Help for the full application order. Choose a programme on Courses in Malaysia for International Students before you read an entry table.

The Education Malaysia rule and the programme table

Education Malaysia states a main requirement for admission to diploma or degree programmes Evidence. International students must have at least twelve years of education Evidence. They must also have a national or international examination that the Ministry of Education recognises Evidence. This answer states no rule for foundation programmes.

Compare this rule with the programme table, because the two can look different. The Monash Diploma of Business table lists GCE O-Level/IGCSE/GCSE and the Myanmar Basic Education High School Examination Evidence Evidence. INTI lists IGCSE with “11 years of schooling” Evidence. INTI lists the Myanmar Basic Education High School with “10 years of schooling” Evidence. The supplied sources do not explain how these table entries relate to the 12-year rule. Ask the university in writing whether your exact certificate meets the rule for your programme.

A bachelor degree can have its own level rule. Monash states that holders of SPM, GCE O-level, or an equivalent must first complete a pre-university qualification Evidence. Its examples are GCE A levels, STPM, and the Monash University Foundation Program (MUFY) Evidence. Monash also states that each undergraduate course has specific entry-score requirements Evidence. At Monash, an O-level result alone does not give direct entry to a bachelor degree.

The Immigration Department lists two approvals for a private higher education institution. The Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE) approves its courses and establishment Evidence. The Ministry of Home Affairs (MOHA) authorises it to enrol international students Evidence. No supplied source confirms this authorisation for the private universities on this page. Ask a private institution to confirm it before you pay an application fee.

An offer is not the last academic check. EMGS conducts academic screening and issues the Approval to Study letter only to eligible applicants Evidence.

The five checks

UM states that MBA applicants must meet both the general and the specific admission requirements Evidence. The UM MPH specific requirements also tell applicants to fulfil the General University Requirements Evidence. Read both layers before you decide that you qualify.

The table compares four example rule sets. “Not stated” means that the supplied extract gives no rule for that check.

Check UM Master of Public Health UM Master of Business Administration Monash Diploma of Business APU Foundation Programme routes
Award level for entry Bachelor’s Degree Evidence Bachelor Degree (Honours), or ACCA Level 7 and above as an equivalent qualification Evidence A listed school qualification with a score Evidence Not stated
Subject Three named bachelor degrees, or a field related to Public Health Evidence Related Fields: N/A Evidence Credit in Mathematics (Australian Year 11 equivalent) Evidence Not stated
Grade CGPA 3.00, or 2.50 to 2.99 with one listed condition Evidence Evidence CGPA 3.00, or 2.50 to 2.99 with one listed condition Evidence A score for each qualification, for example Bangladesh HSC GPA 3.0 Evidence Not stated
Experience One year of relevant work after graduation; three years at CGPA 2.50 to 2.69 Evidence Evidence Three years full-time after the first degree Evidence Not stated Not stated
Interview Listed after the CGPA 2.50 to 2.69 line Evidence Required Evidence Not stated Not stated
IELTS minimum IELTS Academic 6.0 Evidence IELTS Academic 6.0 Evidence 5.5 overall, no band below 5.0 Evidence 4.0 Evidence
Student category Local & International Evidence Local & International Evidence Not stated International students Evidence

Each column is one programme rule. Do not combine the easiest cell from each column into one expectation. A Monash diploma rule does not lower a UM master rule.

Grade: read the CGPA bands

The UM MPH page sets different conditions for each CGPA band. The table shows how the general rule and the special requirement combine.

Your CGPA General rule MPH special requirement
3.00 or higher Meets the general CGPA rule Evidence At least one year of relevant work after graduation Evidence
2.70 to 2.99 At least one of seven listed conditions Evidence One year of relevant work and at least one general criterion Evidence
2.50 to 2.69 At least one of seven listed conditions Evidence Three years of relevant work, one or two general criteria, and a passed interview Evidence

Worked example (hypothetical record): a graduate of another university has a CGPA of 2.60 and two years of relevant work. This record meets the general 2.50 to 2.99 rule through one year of work in a related field Evidence. It does not meet the MPH special requirement for CGPA 2.50 to 2.69. That line asks a non-UM graduate for three years of relevant work, two general criteria, and a passed interview Evidence.

The page places the interview line after the 2.50 to 2.69 band Evidence. Ask UM in writing whether the interview applies to other bands. The two UM pages state no route below CGPA 2.50 Evidence Evidence. Ask the university to convert a percentage or letter grade for you. Do not rely on a generic chart.

Award level: an equivalent qualification applies to one programme

UM lists “ACCA Level 7 and above” as an equivalent qualification for the MBA Evidence. The MPH page states “Equivalent Qualification: N/A” Evidence. The MBA general rule still names a Bachelor’s Degree with a CGPA Evidence. UM requires both the general and the specific rules Evidence. Ask UM in writing how an applicant with ACCA and no bachelor degree meets the general rule. An entry route does not change a professional certificate into a bachelor degree.

Experience and interview

The UM MBA asks for a minimum of three years of full-time work after the first degree Evidence. The MBA page also states that the course requires an interview Evidence. Count your work years from the completion date of your first degree. Keep employer letters ready in case the university asks for proof.

Subject and school qualification names

A subject prerequisite can stop an applicant with a high enough score. Monash lists a Credit in Mathematics (Australian Year 11 equivalent) as the Diploma of Business prerequisite Evidence. Read the prerequisite line, not only the score table.

Monash gives entry scores by qualification for the Diploma of Business Evidence. The China Senior Secondary Certificate (Gao San) needs 70 Evidence. The Myanmar Basic Education High School Examination needs 65% Evidence. GCE O-Level/IGCSE/GCSE needs “4 Grade C’s or Grade 4” Evidence.

Nottingham Malaysia names accepted qualifications by region. Its South Asia list includes CBSE, HSSC, HSC, and ISC Class 12 Evidence. Its Africa list includes WASSCE, KCSE, and UCE Evidence. Its East Asia list includes Gao Kao Evidence. Its Southeast Asia list includes the Matriculation Exam (Myanmar) and the Ijazah Sekolah Menengah Atas (SMA), Ijazah Sekolah Menengah Kejuruan (SMK), and Ijazah Madrasah Aliyah certificates Evidence. Nottingham states that each entry requirement differs by programme Evidence. It tells applicants to contact its international officers or the international agent of their country Evidence.

The two universities use different names for some certificates. For China, Monash names the Gao San, and Nottingham names Gao Kao Evidence Evidence. For Myanmar, Monash names the Basic Education High School Examination, and Nottingham names the Matriculation Exam Evidence Evidence. The supplied sources do not state whether two names describe one record. Write the exact title on your certificate in each application. A regional list gives no grade, so ask the international officer for the grade for your programme.

English: the programme rule and the EMGS rule

International applicants meet two English rules. The university sets one rule for the programme. EMGS asks for an English certificate from its accepted test list with the Visa Approval Letter (VAL) application Evidence. Without the certificate, processing may take longer, and the Student Pass will not cover the full course Evidence.

A test on the EMGS list can fail a programme rule:

  • EMGS lists PTE Academic (Online) Evidence. Monash does not accept Pearson Test of English (Academic) Online for any Monash course Evidence.
  • EMGS lists TOEFL Essentials (Online) Evidence. Monash states that TOEFL Essentials does not meet the Diploma of Business requirement Evidence. The UM MPH page accepts TOEFL Essential Online at score 8.5 Evidence.
  • EMGS lists Linguaskill Online and OET Evidence. The UM MPH page marks both as “Not applicable” Evidence.

IELTS and TOEFL iBT appear in the UM MPH, Monash, APU, and EMGS rules Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence. The TOEFL iBT minimums do not use one scale. UM MPH states a TOEFL iBT (Centre-Based) score of 60 Evidence. Monash states a total of 3 “From 21 January 2026” Evidence. Monash states a total of 46 “Prior to 21 January 2026” Evidence. APU states TOEFL IBT 1.5 for its foundation routes Evidence. Ask each university which TOEFL scale applies to your test date before you book a test. Set your target score from the highest minimum on your shortlist.

For the Diploma of Business, Monash requires tests taken within 24 months before the course starts Evidence. Compare your test date with the start date of your intake.

APU states that, under MOHE regulations, only students with the minimum English result may continue in the main study programme Evidence. Other applicants may apply for a student visa on a conditional basis Evidence. After arrival, they may enrol in an English Language Certification programme at APU Evidence. Students who do not reach the level within the maximum 12 months must return to their home country Evidence. APU exempts students from “English speaking countries” and holders of qualifications taught in English, with supporting documents Evidence. For international students in its foundation routes, APU sets IELTS 4.0, TOEFL IBT 1.5, PTE 36, or MUET Band 3 Evidence Evidence.

An APU exemption is a university decision. EMGS still asks for an English certificate with the VAL application Evidence. Ask APU how it handles the VAL for an exempt applicant. If you use the conditional route, plan for up to 12 months of English study before the main programme. For full score tables, see English Requirements for Malaysian Universities.

Student category and study mode

UM marks the entry requirements of both example programmes “Local & International” Evidence Evidence. Nottingham gives its regional lists under “Entry Requirements for International Students” Evidence. The Monash extracts name foreign school certificates, but they do not state a student category Evidence. Ask Monash to confirm in writing that your programme accepts international students.

Education Malaysia states that international students can enrol only in full-time courses, except for mobility programmes Evidence. A student may study only one full-time degree at any one time Evidence. The UM international fee lines show “(Full-Time)” Evidence Evidence. Keep only full-time programmes on your shortlist.

MQA accreditation and admission decisions

MQA defines accreditation as formal recognition that a certificate, diploma, or degree programme meets MQA quality standards and complies with the MQF Evidence. MQA states that students of accredited programmes are eligible to continue their studies and obtain credit transfer Evidence. MQA also states that the final decision lies with the institution Evidence. Accreditation describes a programme. It does not decide your admission. See MQA Accreditation and Degree Recognition.

Application route

The offer comes before the Student Pass. EMGS requires a copy of the offer letter, and the online form opens only after you receive the offer Evidence. You apply for the Student Pass through the EMGS website or the EMGS HUB mobile application after you accept the offer Evidence. The institution can also apply for you through STARS Evidence.

The Immigration Department states that applicants must be outside Malaysia when they submit the application Evidence. EMGS describes a Progression application, for example from a bachelor degree to a master degree Evidence. In that case, the student may remain in Malaysia for the application, subject to the Progression requirements Evidence. Ask your institution which rule applies to you.

EMGS asks for copies of all academic records Evidence. It refers applicants to the institution for additional entry requirements Evidence.

Students from China must use MYCAS to apply to Malaysian institutions Evidence. MYCAS states a cost of MYR1,000 to apply for up to 5 courses Evidence. See University Application Documents.

Costs and dates

UM lists international tuition of RM 31,100 (Full-Time) for the MPH Evidence. UM lists RM 79,100 (Full-Time) for the MBA Evidence. Both amounts exclude 6% Sales and Service Tax (SST) Evidence Evidence. Neither page states a fee period or an academic year. Do not divide or multiply these amounts to get a total. Ask UM for the fee period and the academic year of your offer.

Both UM pages list a Semester 1 (October) intake and a Semester 2 (March) intake, subject to programme availability Evidence Evidence. No supplied source shows which intake accepts applications on 18 October 2026. Check the dated timetable on University Intakes in Malaysia.

Education Malaysia tells students to check scholarships with the institution that accepted them Evidence. It also gives a link to the Ministry of Higher Education scholarship page Evidence. Ask the institution about its scholarships when it accepts you. Check the conditions and dates on the MOHE scholarship page separately, because this source gives no dates.

Next admission step

  1. Write the exact programme title, the university, and the study mode.
  2. Copy the general rule, the specific rule, and the English rule from the programme page.
  3. Compare your award, subject, CGPA, work years, and English result with each rule.
  4. Mark each rule that your record does not clearly meet.
  5. Ask the university for a written answer on each marked rule.
  6. Check that EMGS lists your English test for the VAL application.

Use Request University Admission Help for one enquiry. State whether you apply as a Malaysian or an international applicant, and give your nationality. Give the programme title, the target intake, and the exact certificate title and country. Add your grade or CGPA and your years of full-time work. Add your English test name, test date, and band scores. Ask one main question, for example which rule your record does not meet. Do not send passport scans, certificates, or transcripts in the first enquiry. Compare institutions on Universities in Malaysia for International Students.